German (AUSTRIAN) Literature Month

I have never joined in on anything like this before, but next month I will take part in the German Literature Month event hosted by Caroline of Beauty is a Sleeping Cat and Lizzy of Lizzy’s Literary Life.

The program look as follows 

  • to be honest;  the scale of it all is about to frighten me off and out before I’ve even started…

Week 1 German Literature

Maybe you like Thomas Mann or you are a fan of Genazino. Now’s the time to share this.

  • I prefer contemporary, and have been wanting and meaning to read Jenny Erpenbeck for quite some time now, this is an excellent opportunity to get going: 
  1. The Old Child and the Book of Words
  2. Visitation

Week 2 Crime Fiction

  • I never read crime fiction, almost never – I’m much too easily scared …
  • But I’ve got this odd crush on Austrian literature at the moment, so I might stretch the Austrian-theme a bit longer than intended by the organizers. My plan is to finish a book I started on some months ago
  1. Peter Handke: Mein Jahr in der Niemandsbucht. Ein Märchen aus den neuen Zeiten or Mitt år i Ingemannsbukten (Norwegian)

Week 3 Austria and Switzerland 

  • As already mentioned, I’ve got this “thing” on Austria. I spend a week in Bad Gastein last winter, and a summer week in Vienna. And I really liked it, both the mountains and the city. Therefore: Week three is my favorite week (in advance …)
  • In week 3 I plan to read a novel by an (positively meant) exceptionally weird author: 
  1. Marlen Haushofer: The Loft
Week 4 Kleist and Other German Classics
  • Hm, if I’m still alive by week 4 …, my plan is to read a modern classic:
  1. Ingeborg Bachmann: Simultan (Do I have to mention that also Bachmann was born in Austria…?)

Week 5 Read As You Please and Wrap Up

Wrap up week is a chance to read and review whatever you like. I’ll go for something that hasn’t been translated yet.

  • as you might have noted by now, I was exhausted already at week 4 – .
  • BUT I AM REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO IT ALL!

7 thoughts on “German (AUSTRIAN) Literature Month

  1. Thank you so much for the post and links. This is a wonderful list. I’m especially looking forward to The Loft. I’ve never read anything else by Haushofer since The Wall. I’m really interested to read what you think but all the others are interesting too. I’ll include the list on the participants list.

  2. Pingback: German Literature Month November 2011 – The Participants « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Leave a Reply

