A Visit from the Goon Squad

10 years ago I became very impressed by Jonathan Franzen’s essays How to Be Alone. For weeks now I have been trying to read his newest novel, Freedom, but the text will not open up. To me there is nothing here but words, lots of words; but no poetry, no music, no sensuality – its just talk …

Why I suddenly decided to throw Franzen away and focus my attention on Jennifer Egan instead I do not know. But what I do know, even whitout having finished the book yet, is that A Visit from the Goon Squad is a fantastic piece of literature, heartbreaking – actually!

A Visit from the Goon Squad is labeled a novel, but could also be called a collection of short stories, a multiple memoir, or a cultural history … Since I’m not finish reading yet, I have no review to offer, I just had to share my excitement with someone – !

Have you read it?